Sara + Bud

Hi, we're Sara & Bud! We live in a mountain town in Western Colorado and are eager to start a family.Originally from California, Sara and Bud have also lived in Salt Lake City, Indiana and Massachusetts. We love where we live and like to do lots of things outside together - skiing, biking and rafting. We also like to read, watch baseball (Dodgers games) and get cozy with our dog (Mesa) and cat (Gary).

Sara runs a 3-acre vegetable farm with a job-training program for teens and Bud is the Conservation Director for a local land trust. We cannot wait to have a little one in our lives, thank you for learning about us!

Our Story

“Our Story” Image

Bud and Sara grew up in the same small mountain town in California, and first met when they were 17. They have moved across the country together a few times, traveled, and started a farm. They got married in 2016 at an orange grove in Southern California. Now at age 34, they've spent half of their lives together and feel ready to build their family.

Bud and Sara moved to their home in the mountains of western Colorado six years ago. They live in a small and supportive community where everyone seems to know each other. When they look out the windows of their home they see mountains on all sides. The winter is snowy, spring and fall are perfect, and summer is hot. In the winter they ski (a lot), in the spring and fall they hike, run and mountain bike, and in the summer they jump in the Colorado River and go rafting.

Our Family

“Our Family” Image

Bud's family is large and jovial. His dad is one of five brothers, all of whom are pilots in California. Thanksgiving and Christmas with Bud's family is often 40 relatives gathering for big meals, singing and games. Bud's mom is from a large Irish Catholic family that hosts a week-long reunion every summer at the Jersey shore where 50-100 relatives gather on the beach for a week.

Sara's side of the family is small but close. Her dad lives in Tennessee with his girlfriend, her mom is in Texas. She has a sister and nephews in Kauai, and a brother and cousin in LA. Her family talks on the phone and facetimes often. Most of our holidays are spent traveling to see family, or inviting family into our home in Colorado.

After we got married in 2016 we rescued our cat Gary. Gary is a big cat with a big personality. When he's not snuggling on the couch, he's out exploring the neighborhood--where he's known and loved by all our neighbors. In 2020 Bud found Mesa, a three-legged black lab in need of a home. Mesa's primary goals in life are to catch squirrels, chew her bone, and to be as close as possible to Bud for petting and snuggling. She goes with either Bud or Sara to work every day and is never alone.

We celebrate holidays with our own traditions. We're not that big on gifts, but are very big on experiences, trips, and shared time together. We love Halloween, and celebrate D?a de los Muertos to remember the loved ones we've lost over the years. At Thanksgiving we share meals with family and friends and like to smoke a turkey. Christmas is spent with loved ones and the days before or after are spent skiing and playing in the snow. In the spring and summer we watch a lot of baseball and try to make it to a few Dodgers games. On the 4th of July we raft on the Colorado River with friends and throw a big bbq.

Life Together

“Life Together” Image

Our adventures together revolve around our love for the mountains and desert. Our little mountain town has a lot to offer--we can ski, bike, run, hike and raft, all from our front door. Most of what we need they have access to in town--the local library is a great place to find a good read, there's a nice community center with a pool, parks, and a great public school system.

Daily life together is an adventure--Sara works running the farm from March to November and Bud is often at the farm on evenings helping with irrigation or doing tractor work. Similarly, Bud's work takes him to wild open places throughout the area--he ends up on high altitude ranches, in protected wetlands, wildlife corridors and the forest. Fortunately, both of our jobs are family-oriented and offer flexibility for family and kids.

Our home is peaceful and relaxing. The inside is cozy and usually clean, full of books, blankets, and our sleeping pets. Our garage is chaotic and packed with toys-- skis, bikes, paddle boards, a big whitewater raft, tools, and a tractor. We love cooking together, and alternate taking the lead on what to cook and grocery shopping.

Every year at the end of the farming season, we pack up to take an international vacation somewhere - usually to a beach or new city. We love traveling to nearby Mexico because Sara is fluent in Spanish, we love the culture and food, and there is always so much to explore. We're passionate about raising our kids to understand and appreciate different places, cultures and languages.

Send Sara + Bud a Quick Message: